ARC Cab Company

John Howard
Union County Chamber of Commerce

This site is not associated with
the governments of Union County or the City of Union


JaxDog Cafe
Menu posted daily on facebook
PhotoTuesday-Saturday 9am to 5pm
1118 Adams Ave
La Grande, OR 87850


Google MapFacebook More

JaxDog Cafe

Menu posted daily at

This restaurant is out of place in LaGrande. Unless you are of good taste you will not understand this statement.

This is very good cuisine for this area. I did not expected such good food when I visited the first time. Who would expect to find this in a book store. This chef truly understands flavor. The menu is small and changes weekly but is appropriate. They also offer vegan & gluten-free dishes.

This restaurant deserves and is getting a five star internet rating.


The Webmaster

Interpath Laboratory
PhotoMon. thru Fri. 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
2011 4th Street
La Grande, OR 87850


Google MapWebsite More

Interpath Laboratory

Company Profile

Interpath Laboratory, Inc. is a fully integrated, for profit, clinical medical laboratory corporation, established in 1968. We offer a comprehensive suite of services that enables clients to have a positive impact on their local health community. Since its inception, Interpath has remained dedicated to providing rapid, reliable and economical laboratory testing services. We have experienced sustained growth in testing volumes over the years due, in part, to our focus on customer service.
Our regional laboratory operations and service centers in outpatient facilities are located throughout Oregon, Washington, and Idaho with a recent expansion into Nevada. Our goal is to provide timely, accurate, and quality results by putting the patient first.
We are a family owned and operated organization with our reputation and long-term commitment to our clients as our guiding principles.  The commitment, dedication, and integrity of our exceptional team of employees ensure not only the success of our company, but that we will make a qualitative difference in the healthcare industry.
History of Union County Oregon

The population growth in eastern Oregon during the early 1860s prompted the Legislative Assembly to split Umatilla and Baker Counties from Wasco County on September 22, 1862. Further development of the Grande Ronde Valley led to calls for the legislature to split Union County from Baker County. This finally occurred on October 14, 1864. Union County's name reflects the support of the people in this area toward maintaining the United States during the Civil War.

Between 1875 and 1913, adjustments were made to Union County's borders with Baker, Umatilla, and Wallowa Counties. Union County, lying between the Blue and Wallowa Mountains, is bordered by Wallowa County on the east and north, Umatilla County on the west, and Grant and Baker Counties on the south.

The establishment of a county seat resulted in competition, based on geography and on economic and population growth, between La Grande and the city of Union. The county seat moved between Union and La Grande until it was permanently transferred to La Grande in 1905.

With each transfer of the county seat, there was a similar removal of the county courthouse. The first courthouses were rented structures in Union and La Grande. When the city of Union was designated as the county seat in 1874, the county's records were quickly moved to a new brick courthouse in the area where

Union High School now stands. La Grande regained the county seat in 1905 and moved into the courthouse that had been built the previous year as the city hall. The courthouse was razed in 1996 and offices for the county clerk, assessor, tax collector, and planning department were relocated to the nearby Chaplin Building.

The government of Union County consisted originally of a county judge, two county commissioners, clerk, sheriff, treasurer, assessor, school superintendent, and coroner. It changed from a county court to a board of commissioners in 1991.

The county historically has been a slow growth area. The first census of the county in 1870 showed only 2,552 inhabitants. It has grown steadily and by 2000 the population was 25,470, representing an increase of 3.80% since 2000.

The initial economic interest in the area was mining, but most of the mines were in the area annexed by Baker County in 1901. Over the years farming (wheat, fruit, vegetables, and grass seeds), cattle, sheep raising, and timber replaced mining as the primary economic forces in the county. Nearby mountains and streams provide hunting, fishing, skiing, and camping opportunities.

Excerpt from: Oregon State website